15185_SI_RAA_Logo_v1_FINALS2017 Research Action Awards

The Sax Institute’s Research Action Awards recognise research that has made a significant impact on health policy, programs or service delivery. We established the Awards in 2015 to acknowledge research that supports policy decisions that make a real-world difference to people’s health and wellbeing.

The Awards presentation

The 2017 Award recipients will be honoured at a ceremony on 21 November 2017 in Sydney and presented with their awards by international or national leaders in health policy. Senior health leaders and members of the public health and health services research communities will be invited to attend. The Institute will publicise the work of the successful applicants by showcasing their achievements to the media. Successful awardees will receive $5,000 each towards their professional development.

Applications are now closed. Thank you to those who have applied.

Thanks to our sponsors

We would like to acknowledge the Commonwealth Bank of Australia for their support of the Research Action Awards.


Ms Kathryn Placencia
Phone: 02 9188 9581
Email: communications@saxinstitute.org.au

Previous award winners

2016 Awards

Researchers focused on making a real-world impact on vaccine safety, maternal and reproductive health, and strengthening the Medicare system were winners at the 2016 Research Action Awards.

2016 winners:

  • Associate Professor Kristine Macartney, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)
  • Associate Professor Kees van Gool, University of Technology Sydney
  • Associate Professor Angela Dawson, University of Technology Sydney

2015 Awards

The 2015 inaugural Award winners conducted research that had an impact on diverse areas – from being pivotal in having commercial sunbeds banned, to changing the way health workers communicate about vaccination with hesitant parents. Read more about the 2015 Award ceremony and winners.

2015 winners:

  • Dr Anne Cust, University of Sydney
  • Dr Santosh Khanal, NSW Ministry of Health
  • Associate Professor Julie Leask, University of Sydney
  • Associate Professor Farah Magrabi, Macquarie University.