Funding partners

The Australian Prevention Partnership Centre is one of three National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Partnership Centres announced in 2013 to improve the availability and quality of research evidence to health decision makers.

It has $22.6 million in resources over five years provided by our partners: the NHMRC, the Australian Government Department of Health, the NSW Ministry of Health, ACT Health and the HCF Research Foundation.

The Prevention Centre was allocated a further $10 million from the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) in the Commonwealth 2017-18 budget.

It is administered and hosted by the Sax Institute in Sydney.

Collaborating partners

Through our Chief Investigators, the Prevention Centre has links with the following universities, policy agencies and organisations:

Research centres and institutes

  • The George Institute for Global Health
  • Menzies Centre for Health Policy
  • Menzies School of Health Research
  • Baker IDI Heart & Diabetes Institute


  • Australian National University
  • Deakin University
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • RMIT
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of Newcastle
  • The University of New South Wales
  • The University of Notre Dame Australia
  • The University of Queensland
  • The University of Sydney
  • University of Wollongong
  • Western Sydney University

Other government departments and agencies

  • ACT Health
  • Australian Government Department of Health
  • Australian Government Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
  • Department of Health & Human Services, Victoria
  • Department of Planning and Environment, NSW
  • Department of Premier and Cabinet, NSW
  • Hunter New England Population Health
  • NSW Ministry of Health
  • NSW Treasury
  • Queensland Health
  • Tasmanian Government Department of Health and Human Services

Non-government and industry agencies

  • Cancer Council of Australia
  • Heart Foundation of Australia
  • Roberts Day Urban Planning
  • Hospitals Contribution Fund of Australia